Buy Online Bluetones - Return To The Last Chance Saloon *product may differ to image displayed


Return To The Last Chance Saloon CD Album

CD $14.00

Release Date: 18/09/2015

Discs: 2

The Bluetones are one of the most important and successful bands from the Britpop era and kick off the re-issues of their catalogue with the glorious Return To The Last Chance Saloon. In 1998, Melody Maker described the album as a “17 year old, good looking and popular” teenager. Now 17 years since its release, has that teenager retained its exciting, fresh and joyous (superior) qualities? Hell yeah!

Return To The Last Chance Saloon is a hit packed, gold selling, Top 10 album that was originally released in March 1998. Featuring the hit singles Solomon Bites The Worm, If…, and Sleazy Bed Track plus mail order only single 4 Day Weekend, this re-issue is augmented by the addition of standalone Top 10 single Marblehead Johnson.

The bonus material included across this 2CD set includes each band member’s favourite b-side, plus a stunning gig recorded at BBC’s Sound City in Newcastle in 1998. A set packed with all their hits, it’s the sound of a band at the top of their game playing to a jubilant and adoring audience.

The 2CD, 36 track package is completed by the addition of previously unreleased BBC session tracks from the era and all contained in a tri-fold sleeve with a new booklet containing brand new sleevenotes from Mark Morriss.

"Return To.." is as fresh as your first outdoor breath on a crisp spring day, as adrenalising as a five mile freefall into neat vodka and as heartbreaking as finding an ex's hair on a long forgotten shirt.” Melody Maker, 1998

“at times better than anything they've ever done” NME, 1998

Original Album
1. Tone Blooze
2. Unpainted Arizona
3. Solomon Bites The Worm
4. U.T.A.
5. 4-Day Weekend
6. Sleazy Bed Track
7. If...
8. The Jub-Jub Bird
9. Sky Will Fall
10. Ames
11. Down At The Reservoir
12. Heard You Were Dead
13. Broken Starr
14. Woman Done Gone Left Me

Non Album Track
15. Marblehead Johnson

The Bluetones favourite B-Sides
16. I Was A Teenage Jesus (Mark' choice)
17. I Walked All Night (Eds' choice)
18. Pretty Ballerina (Adam's choice)
19. Blue Shadows (Scott"'choice)

Radio 1 Session 4 August 1996
1. The Simple Things *
2. Electric Vampire *

Radio 1 Evening Session 9 March 1998
3. 4 Day Weekend *
4. UTA *

Newcastle Sound City 27 October 1998
5. Unpainted Arizona *
6. Bluetonic *
7. Solomon Bites The Worm *
8. Are You Blue Or Are You Blind *
9. Pretty Ballerina *
10. 4 Day Weekend *
11. Sleazy Bed Track *
12. Cut Some Rug *
13. UTA *
14. Slight Return *
15. If… *
16. Carn't Be Trusted *
17. Broken Starr *

* previously unreleased