Buy Online The Auteurs - How I Learned To Love The Bootboys Expanded Edition

The Auteurs

How I Learned To Love The Bootboys Expanded Edition CD Album

CD £10.99

Release Date: 02/06/2014

Discs: 2

The Auteurs fourth and ultimately final album, How I Learned To Love The Bootboys was released in July 1999, a 3-year gap since their previous release, After Murder Park, a period during which Luke Haines released albums as part of Black Box Recorder and under the guise of Baader Meinhof.

This expanded edition, compiled by Luke Haines, features 40 tracks including key b-sides and rarities plus 5 previously unreleased tracks.  The second disc features the band’s final gig recorded at London School Of Economics in November 1999.  This is the first time it’s been on CD, having been briefly available as a download previously.

The 2CD set comes in lavish packaging and includes brand new sleevenotes by Luke Haines.

“On listening to '...Bootboys' again, I'm actually surprised how focussed it sounds.  There's a straightforward 'pop side' and an unstraightforward 'experimental' side.  My only regret is not putting more on the album – really stretching it out and making it a sprawling double, songs like 'Breaking Up' and 'Get Wrecked At Home' were far too good for B-sides.”  Luke Haines 2014


Original Release
1. The Rubettes
2. 1967
3. How I Learned To Love The Bootboys
4. Your Gang, Our Gang
5. Some Changes
6. School
7. Johnny & The Hurricanes
8. The South Will Rise Again
9. Asti Spumante
10. Sick Of Hari Krisna
11. Lights Out
12. Future Generation

B-sides and Rarities
13. Get Wrecked At Home
14. Breaking Up
15. Politic
16. ESP Kids
17. Johnny And The Hurricanes
18. Future Generation
19. School *
20. Essex Bootboys
21. The Rubettes (Acoustic) *
22. 1967 (Acoustic) *
23. Some Changes (Acoustic) *
24. Lights Out (Acoustic) *

No Dialogue With Cunts – Auteurs Last Stand Live At LSE November 1999 - first time on CD

1. Baader Meinhof
2. Meet Me At The Airport
3. Burn Warehouse Burn / There's Gonna Be An Accident
4. Back On The Farm
5. Baader Meinhof 2
6. Unsolved Child Murder
7. 1967
8. The Rubettes
9. How I Learned To Love The Bootboys
10. Your Gang, Our Gang
11. How Could I Be Wrong
12. Buddha
13. After Murder Park
14. Light Aircraft On Fire
15. Lenny Valentino
16. Future Generation

* previously unreleased